The Rumor That Threatened My Life

I read an amazing blog by Misadventures of a Lady Cop regarding rumors surrounding woman in law enforcement always in a sexual connotation. It got me thinking about a rumor that spread that threatened my life.

It all started when I refused to sleep with a married woman. Weird right!?!?

I do not discriminate who I date, but there is one type of woman I will not date or sleep with. A married one.

Basically, married woman started up this crazy rumor that her and I were sleeping together and had been for quite a while. She wanted other co workers to think that she cool or something. Unfortunately, my coworkers believed her and stopped speaking to me and giving me the cold shoulder. Even when I confronted them about what was going on they would just tell me, “you know what you are doing is wrong”.

A couple days go by and I think that it will pass over but I was very wrong. I began receiving hate facebook messages from a man I did not know. The messages got worse and worse to the point to where he threatened to meet me after work and shoot me on the spot.

I took those messages straight to the Sheriff station where I was advised there was nothing they could do because a crime had not been committed. Sorry, a threat to my life is a crime. Well it is today.

The very next day after I went to the Sheriff station, I was walking out to my truck after work and a man was leaning on my truck. I made the snide remark about getting off my truck. I was a couple feet from him when he pulls out a black handgun. Quick thinking and all my self defense training I had the hand gun pointed at him within 5 seconds. He was not expecting that at all. He quickly told me who he was and what he was doing there. He was the husband of married woman and how he received an anonymous phone call about me sleeping with his wife. Everything was starting to make sense. Now I understood what was going on.

I very clearly advised him whatever he had been told was a complete lie and was not happening and had never happened. It clicked in his head very fast he was there for absolutely nothing and that maybe he needed to get his wife in check.

I unloaded his weapon, removed the rounds from the mag, placed the rounds in my pocket and the mag back in the gun. Handed him the gun and left.

I found out from one of my co workers who finally wanted to talk to me again that married woman started telling everyone her and I were sleeping together and her sister anonymously called her husband giving him all the details.

If there is one thing I have learned from this was not to have the reputation of dating people from work.

I then worked a miracle, got un-friend zoned and married my best friend. I am happily married.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

